How to clear keyboard history iPhone

If your keyboard dictionary is messed up and you want to give it a fresh start to improve your Keyboard’s predictive features or if you don’t want your Keyboard to autocorrect and predict words for you, this article is the right place to start. In this article, we will learn how to clear keyboard history iPhone and disable predictive text and autocorrect features on an iPhone.

how to clear keyboard history iphone

Whether Android or iOS, every phone’s Keyboard has a built-in dictionary that it uses for autocorrection and predictive words. It can also add words to its dictionary to learn from your typing and improve its functionality. It can memorize nicknames, emails, addresses, etc. But the problem comes when you use multiple languages in your conversation; the Keyboard gets confused with the words. The Keyboard is supposed to learn and predict words from the default language you’ve selected for the phone(i.e. English in most cases). The Keyboard sometimes stores incorrect and misspelled words when you use multiple languages. So it starts predicting wrong words or incorrect words for your following phrase.

How to clear keyboard history iPhone?

By clearing the keyboard history, you’ll wipe the entire personal dictionary of your Keyboard. This means all the new words the Keyboard added in the past to its dictionary will be removed, and it will return to its default state. Now on Android keyboards, you get an option to customize the dictionary from its settings. You can add or remove words manually. But in iPhones, you can’t customize the dictionary and remove unwanted words. The only option is to wipe the whole dictionary and clear all the history. Here is how to do that-

NOTE: before you proceed do remember that you cannot undo this process once it done and all the history will be erased.

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Go to General.
  3. Scroll down and tap Reset.tap reset
  4. Now tap on Reset Keyboard Dictionary enter the passcode when prompted.reset keyboard dictionary
  5. Now tap Reset Dictionary, and it will wipe all the keyboard history from your iPhone keyboard.

Now that the dictionary is reset you can start using it again, and this is how to clear keyboard history iPhone so that it won’t predict any more misspelled or incorrect words for you.

How to disable the Predictive text and Autocorrect feature on an iPhone Keyboard?

If you think you don’t like the predictive and autocorrect feature and want to remove it, you can permanently disable it from the keyboard settings. Here is how-

  • Go to Settings.
  • Tap on General Settings
  • Now go to Keyboard.tab keyboard
  • Now toggle off Auto-Correction to turn off the auto-correct feature.
  • Toggle off Predictive to turn off the predictive text feature.toggle predictive

You can always turn this feature back on if you ever need it by going into keyboard settings and toggling on the above options.

Also Read:

How to change Bluetooth name on iPhone? [in 5 easy steps]

Improve your typing experience with a 3rd party keyboard on iPhone.

Suppose you are not satisfied with the autocorrect and predictive feature of the default keyboard of your iPhone and want to improve your typing experience. In that case, you can always swap your default keyboard with a 3rd party one. There are many 3rd party keyboards in the App Store with much better features. For example, we would like to recommend Microsoft Swiftkey Keyboard.

Microsoft Swiftkey Keyboard is fully packed with features, and it’s one of the best when it comes to predictive texts. It predicts the next world for you accurately and autocorrections even the most misspelled words correctly for you. In addition, it has a dedicated setting for adding and removing words from the personal dictionary. Here is a link below to download the app from the App store-

Microsoft Swiftkey Keyboard

So this wraps our article eon how to clear keyboard history iPhone. If you have any doubts or queries let us know in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.